Lessons from an Amateur Dresser Makeover

aubrey
4 min readFeb 7, 2021

I moved into a new apartment in early December 2020. I was offered a free dresser from my sister, and since I didn’t have one, I agreed. My sister had gotten the dresser for $20 off of Facebook Marketplace a year ago, so I knew that it would be a used treasure. Upon seeing and taking home the dresser, I knew I wanted to mess around and give it a makeover.

Skip to end for summarized lessons learned and price breakdown

The wood dresser had a finish on it, however, I was lazy and a furniture flipping newbie so I decided to disregard it. If this makeover failed, it failed, regardless of if I sanded off the finish first.

After reviewing the neutral color ambiance of my bedroom, I knew I needed an accent piece and decided to paint the dresser green.

Round 1: Green

I was going for a deep green, so at Lowe’s I ended up picking up a quart of the Valspar Rainforest Canopy green. I went home, cleaned the dresser off, and started painting. From the start, I knew the green was not what I had intended. I had so much hope that when I woke up in the morning, the paint would dry a dark greener than the night before. That…

--

--